Thu, Aug 01 | Kaneohe Yacht Club

El Toro North American

August 1-4
Registration is Closed

Time & Location

Aug 01, 2019, 8:00 AM
Kaneohe Yacht Club, 44-503 Kaneohe Bay Dr, Kaneohe, HI 96744, USA

About the Event


2019 El Toro North American Championship Regatta

August 1 - 4, 2019


1.1. The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing, the prescriptions of US

SAILING, the El Toro Class Rules and the Sailing Instructions. Kaneohe Yacht Club (KYC) is the organizing



2.1. Entrants must be a member in good standing of the El Toro International Yacht Racing Association (ETIYRA),

and a member, or dependent of a member, of a club affiliated with US Sailing or World Sailing.

2.2. Eligible boats will find the registration link to register at no later than 24 July, 2019 at the following site:

2.3. Late entries will be accepted until 1030 on 1 August, 2019.

2.4. KYC Guest Passes will be available from 24 July, 2019 through 10 August, 2019, check-in at the KYC office.

3. Divisions:

3.1. The Junior Division includes skippers who have not reached their 15th birthday as of January 31, 2019.

3.2. The Junior Division will be split into Gold (full race sails) and Silver (training sails) classes.

3.3. The Senior Division includes all other skippers.

4. FEES:

4.1. Junior Division: $110

4.2. Senior Division: $130

4.3. A late fee of $10 will apply after 24 July, 2019.

4.4. Entry fees include a shirt and Luau Dinner. Additional Luau dinner tickets and shirts will be available for purchase

in advance via the registration link.


5.1. Check-in and Late Registration at KYC: 1 August, 2019, 0900-1030;

5.2. Skippers Meeting at KYC Upper Deck: 1 August, 2019, 1045;

5.3. Practice Races: 1 August, 2019 - First warning Juniors 1230 (2 races), Seniors 1500 (2 races);

5.4. Junior Races: 2, 3, 4 August, 2019 - First warning 1030, Two races each day;

5.5. Senior Races: 2, 3, 4 August, 2019 – First warning 1400, Two races each day;

5.6. Luau at KYC in the Longhouse: 3 August, 2019 at 1730;

5.7. Awards at KYC in the Gazebo: 4 August, 2019 at 1700;

6. Measurements: Boats must hold a valid measurement certificate prior to registration.

7. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS: The Sailing Instructions will be available at the Skippers Meeting, on the KYC website and

the El Toro website after 14 July, 2019.

8. VENUE: The Course Area will inside Kaneohe Bay between Moku O ’Loe (Coconut Island) and KYC.

9. COURSES: Courses will be described in the Sailing Instructions.

10. SCORING: The scoring system is as follows:

10.1. Three races must be completed to constitute a regatta.

10.2. No race will be excluded unless six races have been completed. This modifies Rule A2.

10.3. DSQ races will not be eligible for exclusion.


11.1. The winners’ names will be inscribed on the Junior and Senior perpetual trophies on display at Richmond Yacht


11.2. There will be other awards as determined by the Race Committee, KYC and ETIYRA.

12. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY: Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See Rule 4, Decision to

Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in

conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

13. BOAT SHIPPING DETAILS: Mainland competitors should contact Hill “Buzz” Blackett at 510-917-0165 (mobile) or or Gordon Nash at to arrange for boat shipping.


14.1. Event Chair: Kim Ickler 808-753-1431,

14.2. Principal Race Officers: Pete Stokka, 808-347-5453,; Steven Hochart, 808-223-7907,

14.3. Hawaii Measurer: Yal Lim, 808-392-0202,

14.4. KYC Sailing Director: Jesse Andrews, 808-381-5989,

Share This Event